Notifiable diseases

Notifiable diseases are infectious diseases which doctors have a statutory duty to report to the 'Proper officer' of their local authority.  Reports should be made within 3 days or verbally within 24 hours if the case is serious.  Doctors should not wait for laboratory confirmation before making a report.

The list of notifiable diseases on the HPA website as of October 2011 is:
  • Acute encephalitis 
  • Acute meningitis 
  • Acute poliomyelitis 
  • Acute infectious hepatitis 
  • Anthrax 
  • Botulism 
  • Brucellosis 
  • Cholera 
  • Diphtheria 
  • Enteric fever (typhoid or parathyohoid fever) 
  • Food poisoning 
  • Haemolytic uraemic syndrome 
  • Infectious bloody diarrhoea 
  • Invasive group A streptococcal disease and scarlet fever
  • Legionnaire’s Disease 
  • Leprosy 
  • Malaria 
  • Measles 
  • Meningococcal septicaemia 
  • Mumps 
  • Plague 
  • Rabies 
  • Rubella 
  • SARS 
  • Smallpox 
  • Tetanus 
  • Tuberculosis 
  • Typhus 
  • Viral haemorrhagic fever 
  • Whooping cough 
  • Yellow fever 

author profile image

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book.

Secret collector of interesting anonymised ECGs. Fan of the Bath Photomarathon. Lover of cream teas. [Sarah Hudson] (Your Picture)